December 2013

This December in Myanmar it will be more lively than ever.  Starting from 10th of December to 23rd of December,  Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games) will be held in Yangon, Myanmar. It is a biennial multi-sport event involving participants from the current 11 countries of Southeast Asia.  The games is under regulation of the Southeast Asian Games Federation with the supervion by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Olympic Council of Asia.

The 27th Southeast Asian Games is scheduled to be held in Naypidaw, the new capital of Myanmar as well as in two other main cities, Yangon and Mandalay.

The official mascot of the 2013 Southeast Asian Games is a couple of owls which are considered lucky charms in Myanmar tradition.  The male owl is called Shwe Yoe and the female owl is called Ma Moe.

Participating nations include : Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste amd Vietman.